Divan & Aides

In the context of the Shrine, the Divan is the “Board of Directors” or “Executive Council” of the organization, and serves as the management team for both fraternal and business activities of the Temple. Each Shrine Temple has its own Divan, and the minimum number of Divan members is set by Imperial by-laws at seven, with each of these being elected by the Nobility (membership). Therefore, all Shrine Temples have at least seven members on the Divan, but some have more. For most temples that have more than seven members on the Divan, the additional positions are usually appointed by the Potentate. Like most Masonic organizations, the Divan is usually a “progressive” line, which means that one new person is appointed or elected to the line each year, the other members of the Divan move “up” one position, and the top man retires from the line and becomes a Past Potentate. In addition, two more elected officers are considered part of the Divan, namely the Recorder and Treasurer. These two officers, however, are not usually part of the “progressive” line, and may serve in the same office for more than one year (if so elected).


William M. Kissane
Lady Debbie Jo


Chief Rabban
Keith Koopman

Assistant Rabban
George E. Stimac

Lady Donna

High Priest & Prophet

K. “Tracy” Burcham

Lady Nui


Oriental Guide
J. “Jay” Alfirevic
Lady Susan

Fred S. Kaufman
Lady Carol

Eric W. Keating
Lady Jodie



Captain of the Guard
Frank Palella
Lady Cynthia


1st Ceremonial Master – Dwaine Churma
2nd Ceremonial Master – Tery Hartl
Director of Ceremonials – Patrick Robin
Marshal – Richard Kalivoda
Outer Guard – John Wojociechowski


2019 Potentate’s Aides

Rupert Solis (Trish) – Chief Aide
Erick Coners (Lisa) – Aide
George Molnar (Marion) – Aide
Chuck Wetherington (Linda) – Aide
Ray Kustush (Cynthia) – Aide
Sam Spector (Faith) – Aide






Each position in the line has it’s own title, derived from Arabic tradition, and each has it’s own set of defined duties and responsibilities. Potentates (both past and present) are addressed as “Illustrious Sir”, Imperial Potentates (both past and present) and members of the Imperial Divan are addressed as “Imperial Sir”, while all other Shriners are addressed as “Noble”. Assuming an individual is re-appointed and/or re-elected to the Divan each year, in the time it takes to move up from Oriental Guide to Potentate, he will have had exposure to and responsibility for every aspect of Medinah Shriners operation.